And the winners of the Book Awards are …

Freshly announced at the Awards Ceremony in Wellington, the winners of the 2018 NZ Book Awards for Children and Young Adults are …

test alt text
Pages 60-61 of Aotearoa, by Gavin Bishop

The Margaret Mahy Book of the Year and the Elsie Locke Award for Non-fiction

Aotearoa: the new zealand story

Illustrated and written by Gavin Bishop

Published by Penguin Random House NZ

RRP $40.00 (hardback)

Buy Now

The Picture Book Award

i am jellyfish

Written and illustrated by Ruth Paul

Published by Penguin Random House NZ

RRP $20.00

Buy Now

Wright Family Foundation Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction

How to Bee

By Bren MacDibble

Published by Allen & Unwin NZ

RRP $18.99

Buy Now

The Russell Clark Award for Illustration

Giants, Trolls, Witches, Beasts: Ten Tales from the Deep, Dark Woods

By Craig Phillips

Published by Allen & Unwin

RRP $27.99

Buy Now

The Copyright Licensing Award for Young Adult Fiction

in the dark spaces

By Cally Black

Published by Hardie Grant Egmont

RRP $23.00 (paperback)

Buy Now

Te Kura Pounamu Award for Te Reo Māori


Written by Malcolm Clarke

Illustrated by Hayley King (FLOX)

Translated by Evelyn Tobin

Published by Little Love, Mary Egan Publishing

RRP $20.00 (paperback)

Buy Now

The Best First Book Award

my new zealand story: dawn raid

By Pauline (Vaeluaga) Smith

Published by Scholastic NZ

RRP $17.99 (paperback)

Buy Now