• The Sapling

The winners of the 2019 Book Awards are ...


Fresh off the ceremony at Te Papa Tongarewa, the results are in and your New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults winners are...

final spread of Aotearoa

Spread from of The Bomb, by Sacha Cotter & Josh Morgan

The Margaret Mahy Book of the Year and the Picture Book Award

The Bomb Written by Sacha Cotter & illustrated by Josh Morgan

Published by Huia

RRP $23.00

Buy Now


Wright Family Foundation Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction

The Dog Runner

Written by Bren MacDibble

Published by Allen & Unwin

RRP $18.99

Buy Now


Young Adult Fiction Award

Legacy By Whiti Hereaka Published by Huia

RRP $25.00

Buy Now


Elsie Locke Award for Non-Fiction & Best First Book Award


By Sarah Pepperle

Published by Christchurch Art Gallery

RRP $29.99

Buy Now


Russell Clark Award for Illustration

Puffin the Architect

By Kimberly Andrews

Published by Puffin

RRP $19.99

Buy Now


Te Kura Pounamu Award for Te Reo Māori

Te haka A TAnerore

Written by Reina Kahukiwa & illustrated by Robyn Kahukiwa

Published by Mauri Tū

RRP $23.00

Buy Now

#Awards #NZBookAwardsforChildrenandYoungAdults #NZCYAAwards2019 #NZCYA #TheBomb