• The Sapling

And the winners of the Book Awards are ...


Freshly announced at the Awards Ceremony in Wellington, the winners of the 2017 NZ Book Awards for Children and Young Adults are ...

The Margaret Mahy Book of the Year and the Russell Clark Award for Illustration

SNARK Illustrated and written (after Lewis Carroll) by David Elliot

Published by Otago University Press

RRP $59.99 (hardback)


The Picture Book Award

That's Not a Hippopotamus

By Juliette MacIver Illustrated by Sarah Davis

Published by Gecko Press

RRP $29.99 (hardback), $19.99 (paperback)


The Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction

My NZ STORY: Bastion point

By Tania Roxborogh Published by Scholastic NZ

RRP $17.99


The Elsie Locke Award for Non-Fiction

Jack and Charlie: Boys of the Bush

By Josh and Jack Marcotte

Published by Penguin Random House

RRP $37.00


The Copyright Licensing Award for Young Adult Fiction

The Severed Land

By Maurice Gee

Published by Penguin Random House

RRP $19.99 (paperback)


Te Kura Pounamu Award for Te Reo Māori


By Sacha Cotter Illustrated by Josh Morgan Translated by Kawata Teepa

Published by Huia Publishers

RRP $20.00 (paperback)


The Best First Book Award

The Discombobulated Life of Summer Rain

By Julie Lamb

Published by Mākaro Press

RRP $25.00 (paperback)

#Aotearoa #NZBookAwardsforChildrenandYoungAdults2017 #Awards #NZBookAwardsforChildrenandYoungAdults